2017 Canadian Masters Team Championship Start Today in Edmonton

Starting today, eight teams from across Canada will begin their quest to capture the 2017 Canadian Masters Team Championship title.
Hosted by the Edmonton Squash Club, some of the best Master’s squash players our country has to offer will compete on behalf of their province/territory over the three-day team tournament, in pursuit of the national title.
In total 56 athletes, will play over 100 matches starting Friday, concluding Sunday January 15 with the championship matchup.  In the Masters Team championship event, teams are comprised of 7 players (4 men and 3 women) in the age divisions of Men’s 40+, 45+, 50+ and 55+ and Women’s 40+, 45+ and 50+.
Team Quebec enters as reigning champs but 2016 finalist Team Ontario enters the 2017 championship with the top seed, looking to earn their way back to the finals and take home the title. Team Alberta looks to better their 2016 4th place finish and challenge for the national title, having homecourt advantage and entering the championship with the #2 seed.
The championship kicks off with round-robin play with teams facing each other in their pools before cross-over playoff matches on Saturday. 
Team Ontario Team Alberta A
Team Manitoba Team British Columbia
Team Saskatchewan Team Quebec
Team Alberta B Team New Brunswick
Can't make it to the Edmonton Squash Club? Cheer for your team online! Follow the action as Squash Canada updates on scores and matches on twitter @SquashCanada.  Stay connected with the conversation, use #masterstc2017 all weekend long. 
Team Alberta A – Pete Goodings, Jeff Williams, Clyde Dickey, John de Vries, Sara McNeill, Kathy Conquergood, Julia Smith
Team Alberta B – Todd Sigfstead, Ian Buchanan, Kurt Kennedy, Jack Hoogstraten, Lisa Henderson, Anna Pentland, Gina Schille
Team British Columbia – Randall Town, Bruce Matthews, Mark O’Neill, Tom Bedore, Laura Ramsay, Diedre Smith, Brook Macey
Team Manitoba – Tom Brown, Don Bushuk, Matt Vincent, Steve Younger, Danielle Parent, Gail Freser, Brenda Cleverley
Team New Brunswick – Robert Davies, Barry Williams, John McNally, Moe Belliveau, Lily Fraser, Myriam Laforge
Team Ontario – Bruce Marrison, Trent Haase, Scott Kemp-Gee, Wayne Pye, Julie Hisey, Sue Desa, Elka Marcus
Team Quebec – Viano Oghenekevwe, Stephane Lussier, Richard Duceppe, Suzanne Dufresne, Genevieve Quesnel, Brigitte Tourigny 
Team Saskatchewan – Alan Fern, Kjeld Gattinger, Colin King, Asim Amjad, Carla Dyck, Shefali Thakore, Lorraine Fitzgerald
Founded in 1915, Squash Canada is a non-profit, national sport governing body responsible for the development of athletes, coaches and officials and sets the standards for Canadian squash. Squash Canada is a proud member of the Pan-American and World Squash Federations and participates in the Pan-American Championships, Commonwealth & Pan-Am Games as well as World Championships at the junior and senior level. Each year Squash Canada hosts nine national championships across the country and works with its provincial and territorial partners to promote the growth and development of squash across the country.  For more information, please visit www.squash.ca.
- 30 -
For more information:
Britany Gordon
Programs Manager, Squash Canada
(613) 228-7724 x202