Familiar Match Ups Headline Semi-Final Action at 2018 Canadian Championships

2018-05-04
Under the lights of the showcase court in the centre of the action of the GSL GM City 2018 Canadian Squash Championships presented by AirSprint Aviation, the stage is set for an exciting semi-final day.
 
On Wednesday, the Glencoe Club welcomed over 200 competitors to Calgary as the compete for national titles in 14 divisions. After two squash-filled days, playoffs begin for all divisions including the marque Men’s and Women’s Open divisions.  In match ups familiar to the Canadian squash community the semi-finals are sure to be action-packed, intense matches that will not disappoint.
 
WOMEN’S OPEN
 
Danielle Letourneau (AB) vs. Samantha Cornett (ON)
Match time: 6:30pm MST/8:30pm EST
2015 Champion Samantha Cornett and HP squad member Danielle Letourneau meet in semi-final action once again, last facing off in the 2017 Canadian Championships. Danielle took the 2017 semi-final in a 4-game match to advance to her second consecutive finals. 
 
Hollie Naughton (ON) vs. Nikki Todd (SK)
Match time: 8:00pm MST/10:00pm EST 
2-time reigning champion, Hollie Naughton will face fellow HP squad member Nikki Todd in the second semi-final matchup. Nikki and Hollie last faced each other in the 2016 Canadian Squash Championships. Hollie took that match on her way to her third consecutive finals appearance and her second consecutive national title. 
 
MEN’S OPEN

Nick Sachvie (ON) vs. Mike McCue (ON)
Match time: 5:45pm MST/7:45pm EST
A rematch of the 2017 Canadian Men’s Championship match, Nick and Mike will battle it out in the first semi-final match, the winner earning their spot in the finals for the second time in their career. The 2017 Championship match was a thriller that saw Nick capture his first career Canadian Men’s national title. 
 
Shawn De Lierre (QC) vs. Andrew Schnell (AB)
Match time: 7:15pm MST/9:15pm EST
The second men’s semi-final will be a match up Canadian squash fans are familiar with. In the previous 4 Canadians championships, Andrew and Shawn have competed against one another and in those 4 matches they share the victories at 2-a-piece. 2015 saw Shawn capture the national title, and Andrew responded in kind by capturing the title the following year. 
 
All Semi-Final matches on the glass court will be streamed, live online at http://bit.ly/CSC2018Webcast_May4
 
The Semi-Finals of the Men’s and Women’s Open are not the only high-level squash going on at the Glencoe Club. Twelve divisions, ranging from the Men’s 30+ to Women’s 60+ and the Men’s 70+ have over 200 competitors in action vying for Canadian titles. 
 
For the complete schedule of matches in all 14 divisions and results visit http://bit.ly/2018CdnSquashChamps_Draws


2018 Ciena Men's & Women's Team Championships 
Photo Gallery

2018 Ciena Men's-Women's Team Champs

Top