Hewitt & Hewitt Take Open Title at the Hennessey & Hinchcliffe 2017 Canadian Mixed Doubles Squash Championship


The 2017 edition of the Canadian Mixed Doubles Championships concluded Sunday, capping another exciting doubles squash season.

The duo of Stephanie Hewitt and James Hewitt captured the Jay Gillespie Canadian Open Mixed Doubles Trophy, claiming that national title with a 3-0 victory over Rebecca Hazell and Kelly Shannon [15-7, 15-9, 15-6]. This Mixed Open national title is the eighth for Stephanie; the most of any woman in Canadian Open Mixed Doubles history.  This is Hewitt & Hewitt's 4th win, their last coming together in 2011.  Juniors William Kuhn and Nicole Kendall had a great weekend, topping it off by capturing the bronze. Thier medal represents the first time ever a junior team has won the 3rd place medal in an Open event.

In addition to the exciting Open division, National titles were given out in four other divisions as well as in the competitive Mixed B division.

The Meek Cup (Canadian Mixed 40+):
Scott Dulmage and Margo Dewsnap over Eric Baldwin and Annette White 3-2 [12-15, 15-13, 15-13, 14-16, 11-6]
Reinaldo Rivas and Susan Dessa captured 3rd place

Mixed 50+:
Paul Zander and Heather Maclean over John Hall and Tammie Sangster 3-0 [15-8, 15-13, 11-9]
Scott Dormer and Michele Ramsey claimed 3rd

Mixed 55+:
Alan Hunt and Jann Taylor over Nick Ledonne and Meg Johnston 3-0 [15-11, 15-6, 15-7]
Derek Pepler and Heather Richmond took 3rd in 4 games

Mixed 60+:
Lolly Gillen and Pat Richardson over Ted Ruse and Sandy Cameron 3-0 [15-5, 15-8, 15-11]
Shirley Flemming and Brian Murray won the bronze

Mixed B:
Rhea Dhar and George Crowne over Marlow Benson and Liam Marrison 3-0 [15-8, 15-11, 15-9]
Sydney Maxwell and Robert Maxwell took 3rd

For results from the whole weekend, visit: http://squashcanada.tournamentsoftware.com/sport/draws.aspx?id=789AD9C0-DEE8-4DC8-99AB-1C07DB242865

Big "thank-you's" go to continued Canadian Mixed Doubles Championships sponsor Hennessey & Hinchcliffe, as well as host Mayfair Club Parkway and pro Rafik Bhaloo, Tournament Referee Tony Swift and all officials for another fantastic championship event.  

2018 Ciena Men's & Women's Team Championships 
Photo Gallery

2018 Ciena Men's-Women's Team Champs