Quebec Reclaims Masters Title


Over the weekend, nine provincial teams competing on the courts of the Moncton Squash Club in search of the national title at the 2018 Masters Team Championships, hosted by Squash Moncton.

In a 2016 finals rematch #2 seed Team Quebec faced off against #1 seed Team Ontario for what would be an epic championship match up. Even in match wins through 6, it would come down to the final match up to determine the 2018 Champions. After some incredible squash, Team Quebec came out victorious, reclaiming the title they held in 2016. 

Team Alberta controlled the 3rd Place match up over Team Manitoba on their way to capturing the bronze. Host, Team New Brunswick A represented well on their home courts and would face Team Nova Scotia for the 5th place finish.  Squash Nova Scotia entered the championship seeded 5th and would maintains its 5th seeding in a nail biting 11-9 win in the 5th game in the 7th match of the encounter with the host New Brunswick.

Moncton Squash Club Pro, Andrew Mount, summed up the weekend with one simple sentence calling the 2018 Canadian Masters Team Championship a "truly remarkable event." 

Thank you to the host organizing committee at Squash Moncton, the Moncton Squash Club, all the partners, supporters and sponsors of the event, the Government of Canada and Dunlop Sport, and to Tournament Referee Viano Oghenekevwe and all the officials. 


Championship Match:
Quebec over Ontario 4-3
Don Lee (ON) over Benoit Daigle (QC) [3-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-1]
Sue Desa (ON) lost to Suzanne Dufresne (QC) [11-7, 11-3, 7-11, 3-11, 3-11]
Tom Powers (ON) over Eric Canonne (QC) [11-6, 11-3, 11-5]
Elka Markus (ON) lose to Tara Newman (QC) [10-12, 6-11, 9-11, 8-11]
David Sly (ON) over Richard Pilon (QC) [11-9, 11-4, 11-5]
Lisa Coates (ON) lose to Genevieve Quesnel (QC) [11-2, 8-11, 10-12, 6-11]
Bruce Marrison (ON) lose to Steve Wren (QC) [12-14, 12-10, 8-11, 10-12]
3rd Place Match:
Alberta over Manitoba 6-1
5th Place Match:
Nova Scotia over New Brunswick 4-3
7th Place Match:
Saskatchewan over PEI 4-3

Pictured above: Team Quebec moments after defeating Team Ontario for the title. Pictured with Tournament Referee Viano Oghenekevwe

For full Championship results, visit: