Canadians Ready for the 2017 WSF World Doubles Championships

    Starting tomorrow (Tuesday August 1st), the Canadian squad will hit the doubles courts of the National Squash Centre in Manchester, England for five days of International competition.  From August 1st to the 5th, doubles pairings from around the globe will battle it out at the 2017 WSF World Doubles Championships.  Ahead of the start of the championships the duos in all three events were seeded, providing the four Canadian athletes traveling to Manchester a look at the competition they will face across the pond.
    In the Men’s division, Canada’s representatives David Baillargeon & Shawn De Lierre are seeded 13/16 in Pool D, along with competition from New Zealand, England, and Norway. The two Quebec products may surprise some, as they combine international experience and success of Delierre with a budding Baillargeon, as he breaks onto the world scene in his first ever World Championship appearance. The pair play out of the same Montreal club and will look to put that chemistry on display come tournament time.
    In the Women’s division, the 2015 Pan Am silver medalist pairing of Samantha Cornett & Nikki Todd are in the thick of Pool A, holding the eighth overall seed. There will be stiff competition from top-seeded New Zealand, and the ninth-seeded Dutch pairing, but with valuable playing experience together, two of the nation’s best are poised to contend.
    In mixed action, the pair of Samantha Cornett & Shawn De Lierre received the tenth-seed and will battle out of Pool B against pairs from India, Wales, Malaysia, and the Netherlands. Nikki Todd & David Baillargeon find themselves seeded 13/16 within Pool D, where they will go up against Australia, England, the Netherlands, and Colombia.
    The members of the Canadian squad will first hit the courts at the National Squash Centre in the mixed pairs events.  Cornett and De Lierre, who face Malaysia’s Arnold and Mohammed at 1:15pm local (8:15am EST) on day 1, while Todd and Baillargeon take to the court at 2:30pm local (9:30am EST) against Grinham and Schweertman of the Netherlands.  Later that day, the men’s pair and women’s pair then get their first taste of their opponents.  Baillargeon and De Lierre will first face England’s James and Willstrop Tuesday evening at 6pm local (1pm EST) on court 6.  At the exact same time, 3 courts down on court 3, Cornett and Todd take on King and Landers-Murphy of New Zealand.  
    Catch all the WSF World Doubles Championship from August 1 to 5th thanks to the live-streaming available throughout at
    Schedule & Draw
    Full 2017 WSF World Doubles Championships Draw/Schedule: is available at:
    Full 2017 WSF World Doubles Championships Pools & Seeding
    Pool A: [1] Alan Clyne & Greg Lobban (SCO), [8] Nafiizwan Adnan & Ivan Yuen (MAS), [9] Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu & Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND); [13/16] Dylan Bennett & Piedro Schweertman (NED)
    Pool B: [2] Ryan Cuskelly & Cameron Pilley (AUS); [7] Peter Creed & Joel Makin (WAL), [10] Evan Williams & Lance Beddoes (NZL); [13/16] Christo Potgieter & Jean-Pierre Brits (RSA)
    Pool C: [3] Zac Alexander & David Palmer (AUS); [6] Tom Richards & Daryl Selby (ENG); [11] Andrés Herrera & Juan Camilo Vargas (COL); [13/16] Mohd Syafiq Kamal & Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
    Pool D: [4] Paul Coll & Campbell Grayson (NZL); [5] Declan James & James Willstrop (ENG); [12] Douglas Kempsell & Kevin Moran (SCO); [13/16] David Baillargeon & Shawn Delierre (CAN)
    Pool A: [1] Joelle King & Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL); [8] Samantha Cornett & Nikki Todd (CAN); [9] Natalie Grinham & Milou van der Heijden (NED)
    Pool B: [2] Joshna Chinappa & Dipika Pallikal (IND); [7] Tesni Evans & Deon Saffery (WAL); [10] Catalina Pelaez & Laura Tovar (COL)
    Pool C: [3] Rachael Grinham & Donna Urquhart (AUS); [6] Rachel Arnold & Nicol David (MAS); [11] Sarah Cardwell & Tamika Saxby (AUS)
    Pool D: [4] Laura Massaro & Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG); [5] Jenny Duncalf & Alison Waters (ENG); [12] Lisa Aitken & Carrie Hallam (SCO); [13] Cheyna Tucker & Alexandra Fuller (RSA)
    Pool A: [1] Joelle King & Paul Coll (NZL); [8] Victoria Lust & Adrian Waller (ENG); [9] Deon Saffery & Joel Makin (WAL); [13/16] Lisa Aitken & Douglas Kempsell (SCO); [17/20] Milnay Louw & Christo Potgieter (RSA)
    Pool B: [2] Dipika Pallikal & Saurav Ghosal (IND); [7] Tesni Evans & Peter Creed (WAL); [10] Samantha Cornett & Shawn Delierre (CAN); [13/16] Rachel Arnold & Mohd Syafiq Kamal (MAS); [17/20] Milou van der Heijden & Dylan Bennett (NED)
    Pool C: [3] Donna Urquhart & Cameron Pilley (AUS); [6] Joshna Chinappa & Vikram Malhotra (IND); [11] Amanda Landers-Murphy & Zac Millar (NZL); [13/16] Catalina Pelaez & Andrés Herrera (COL); [17/20] Carrie Hallam & Chris Leiper (SCO)
    Pool D: [4] Rachael Grinham & David Palmer (AUS); [5] Alison Waters & Daryl Selby (ENG); [12] Natalie Grinham & Piedro Schweertman (NED); [13/16] Nikki Todd & David Baillargeon (CAN); [17/20] Laura Tovar & Juan Camilo Vargas (COL)