Canadian Squad set to compete at Battle of the Border

In just a few days, the battle of Team Canada’s top junior talent against their Team USA counterparts begins. The two countries will meet, train, and compete from July 21st to 24th for the first time in the events history in the United States, at the beautiful new Arlen Specter US Squash Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

The Battle of the Border was initially founded in a Team Ontario vs Team USA format in 2004, by US-based Bryan Patterson and the late Mark Sachvie of Ontario, with groups of 4 players in each of the GU13, GU15, BU13, and BU15 sections. The GU17 and BU17 sections were added in 2005. For many players, the Battle of the Border was their first introduction to international competition.

“Battle of the Border is the best event,” exclaimed coach Jessica DiMauro. “It has been a highlight on the junior calendar for as long as I can remember. From the first events with the great Mark Sachvie at White Oaks, the event has always been a huge opportunity for Canadian kids to play against new competition, challenge themselves fully and make lifelong friendships. Playing as a team is a unique experience for squash players so I’m excited to be a part of this weekend in Philly.”

Until this year, the matches took place at The Club at White Oaks in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario (near St. Catharines and Niagara Falls). In 2015, Squash Canada took over responsibility for running the event, changing Team Ontario to Team Canada, and incorporating the Battle of the Border into the Canadian junior athlete pathway.

“Battle of the Border is great for fostering relationships with US and Canadian Squash,” says coach Shakiru Matti. “I am excited to be part of this great event.”

The event commences on July 21st, with the final Battle of the Border matches taking place on Sunday, July 24th. We look forward to cheering on the squad!

Squash Canada 2022 Battle of the Border roster:

Girls U17 Boys U17
Sarah Aki (BC) Roman Bicknell (BC)
Hermione Cao (BC) Sam Boulanger (AB)
Ashley Hall (ON) Wasey Maqsood (ON)
Kathryn Herring (BC) WeiHan Wang (BC)
Girls U15 Boys U15
Caitlin Ng (ON) Anderson Brown (BC)
Aneesa Tejani (ON) Kamran Gwadry (BC)
Melody Farhang Nia (ON) Yusuf Matti-Alvarez (BC)
Yu Yin (BC) Calder Murray (AB)
Girls U13 Boys U13
Olivia Bolger (ON) Caleb Hickox (ON)
Georgia Watson (AB) Shaan Jolly (ON)
Joelle Kim (BC) Navin Kerr (ON)
Sasha Lee (ON) Daniel Wang (BC)

Follow the results and draw here.