Two New Champions Crowned


The 2017 Harrow Canadian University and College Championships concluded this afternoon with two new collegiate champions taking home the titles. 

University of Calgary's Erin Roberts upset regining Women's Open champ, Alison Richmond, representing Queen's University in the finals 3-1 (7-11, 11-5, 11-4, 11-6).  2016 Champ Richmond, entered the tournament as top seed, set ready to defend her title but ultimately it was the hard-playing Roberts who took home the 2017 title.  Roberts' had a great tournament, going undefeated throughout the weekend, only droping 4 games through 5 matches and now takes the Canadian University and College championship back to the Alberta.

On the men's side, Squash Canada national team athlete, David Baillargeon, has taken home the title after defeating Ryerson University's Mohanad Hekal 3-1 (11-6, 2-11, 11-8, 11-5).  Hekal made the finals after a 3rd place finish in 2016, while a freshman at McGill, Baillargeon enter the championship for the first time, setting the stage for an exciting colligate squash career. 

In addition to the Men's and Women's Open titles, Canadian champions were crowned in four other divisions.  

2017 Champions: Erin Roberts (University of Calgary) & David Baillargeon (McGill University)

Host by the Northfield Racquet and Fitness Club in Waterloo (ON), the 2017 Canadian University and College Squash Championships had collegiate squash take centre court with squash athletes representing 12 Universities and Colleges from across the country.  Thank you to Chair, Andrew Mount, Tournament Referee David Fishburn, all officials, the Northfield Racquet and Fitness Club and our wonderful sponsors and partners in sport, Harrow, Dunlop, and the Government of Canada for a wonderful event. 

2017 Harrow Canadian University and College Championships Final Results, by division

Women's Open
Champion: Erin Roberts (University of Calgary)
Finalist: Alison Richmond (Queen's University)
3rd Place: Anika Alexander (Queen's University)

Men's Open
Champion: David Baillargeon (McGill University)
Finalist: Mohanad Hekal (Ryerson University)
3rd Place: Patrick Morkus (McMaster University)

Men's A
Champion: Tommy Guest (Wilfred Laurier University)
Finalist: Hussein Salemwalla (University of Waterloo)
3rd Place: Christopher Muirhead (University of Waterloo)

Women's A
Champion: Nicole Leblanc (University of Western Ontario)
Finalist: Nicola Crich (University of Western Ontario)
3rd Place: Madison Sangster Newbery (Wilfred Laurier University)

Women's B
Champion: Emilie Corcoran (McMaster University)
Finalist: Myriam Carle (University of Waterloo)

Women's C
Champion: Mattea De Munnich (University of Western Ontario)
Finalist: Victoria Sypher (University of Waterloo)
3rd Place: Deanna Papp (Wilfred Laurier University)

Women's D
Champion: Jennifer Tewkesbury (University of Western Ontario)
Finalist: Claire Shaw (Brock University)
3rd Place: Lindsey Smith (University of Western Ontario)

For full championship results, visit:

2018 Ciena Men's & Women's Team Championships 
Photo Gallery

2018 Ciena Men's-Women's Team Champs