Canadian Doubles Returns with 15 New National Champions

The 2023 Canadian Doubles Squash Championships has come to a close, concluding three days of hard-played competition. After an extended hiatus due the COVID-19 pandemic, 15 new National Champions were crowned this past weekend, where over 100 teams vied for top spot. Cedar Springs Racquet and Sports Club in Burlington, Ontario, hosted the Championship with support from Burlington Fitness and Racquet Club, and Ontario Racquet Club.

In both the Men’s and Women’s Opens, the National Titles went to familiar faces. Robin Clarke, now six-time Canadian Doubles Champion, won with partner Robert Nigro; while in the Women’s category, Stephanie Hewitt, now seven-time Canadian Doubles Champion, won with partner Seanna Keating. Clarke and Nigro topped the competition in a 3-0 final (15-7, 15-14, 15-10) against Mark Porter and Colin West, with Paul Gartenburg and Reiko Peter rounding out the podium. For the women, second place went to the team of Nikki Todd and Melina Turk, with third to Rebecca Hazell and Hollie Naughton.

“This past weekend we were honoured to be the host of the most prestigious Squash Doubles tournament on the calendar, the 2023 Canadian Squash Doubles Championships. After three years of absence, we were very excited to bring this event to Burlington for the first time in 20 years.

A huge thank you to the players who came out and supported the event. These tournaments are made by the atmosphere, and it was such a fun and positive environment at Cedar Springs. Massive thank you also to all the sponsors who made this event possible.

A special thank you to the Committee for putting this event on: Nathan, Diane, Ivan, Norm, Josh and Sally.”– Reiko Peters, Tournament Co-Chair

“After a three-year hiatus it was great to see everyone in action this past weekend at Cedar Springs.  The enthusiasm and comradery among spectators and players were wonderful to see. On behalf of the committee, I would like to thank everyone involved in making this a huge success!” – Diane Naughton, Tournament Co-Chair


Men’s Open – Robin A. Clarke & Robert Nigro
Men’s 40+ – Chris Deratnay & Johnny Mee
Men’s 50+ – Scott Dulmage & Richard Thomson
Men’s 55+ – John Hall & Paul Zander
Men’s 60+ – Willie Hosey & Alan Hunt
Men’s 65+ – Sean Mcdonough & Albert G. Tierney
Men’s 70+ – Craig Benson & Timothy Bovaird
Men’s 75+ – Rea Godbold & Molson Robertson
Men’s B – Joel Goulding & Jonathon Madruga
Men’s C – Henky Halim & Raul Sinimae

Women’s Open – Stephanie Hewitt & Seanna Keating
Women’s 50+ – Robbin Morrison & Tammie Sangster
Women’s 65+ – Susan Bell & Sibylle Witt
Women’s 60+ – Cathy Brown & Julie Multamaki
Women’s C – Farhat Salemwalla & Younghee Oh

Results via Club Locker can be found HERE