Baillargeon and Naughton secure back-to-back National titles at the 2023 Canadian Squash Championships in Montreal, QC

Squash Canada’s best athletes took the stage last week in Montreal, Quebec at the 2023 Pembroke Canadian Squash Championships Presented by Pella Montreal. Over 290 athletes descended on La Belle Province from across Canada to compete for National Titles in 26 categories. The five-day event featured matches on the all-glass exhibition Jonathon Power Court at the Forum de Montreal, as well as Club Atwater, McGill University, and Midtown Le Sporting Club Sanctuaire.

“The 2023 Pembroke Canadian Squash Championships presented by Pella culminated in a decisive win for Quebec’s David Baillargeon at the Montreal Forum. All’s well that ends well! Congratulations also to Holly Naughton for her title and to all the other champions,” expressed Tournament Co-Chair, Yvon Provencal. “Great weather, close proximity between the various clubs and a dedicated group of volunteers were all important elements that helped make for a great week of squash.  Nearly 300 players from across the country and the United States were able to stay and enjoy our beautiful city. I would like to thank everyone who participated in any way in the success of the championship.”

The Canadian Squash Championship is highlighted by the Men’s and Women’s Open categories, where Canada’s most talented players took to centre court. Making history were the gold medalist of the Men’s and Women’s Open categories, Hollie Naughton (ON) and David Baillargeon (QC). These National titles are Naughton’s fourth (2016, 2017, 2022, 2023) and Baillargeon’s third (2021, 2022, 2023). Congratulations to Nicole Bunyan (BC) and Brett Schille (AB) for taking home the silver medals and Nikole Todd (SK) and Graeme Schnell (AB) for capturing the bronze medals in their respective categories. Squash Canada would like to congratulate all the medalists of the 2023 Pembroke Canadian Squash Championships Presented by Pella Montreal for their well-earned achievements.

“I’m over the moon to win my third National title in a row here in Montreal in front of family and friends in an iconic venue such as the Forum de Montréal,” said Men’s Open Champion, David Baillargeon. “I’m very thankful for the team and volunteers for all their relentless work making this event a huge success. Can’t wait for Canadian Squash Championships 2024!!”

On her win, performance, and next chapter, Hollie Naughton shared: “So happy to win another Canadian National Championship. Always an honour to claim the title, especially in a venue like the Montreal Forum. I am happy with my performance during the week and handling the pressure. There is always added nerves when it comes to Nationals, so I am incredibly happy with how I controlled and channelled them. Greatly looking forward to getting together with the group in a few weeks to represent Canada at the Pan American Champs!”

Squash Canada would like to acknowledge and thank the squash community and our partners for making this event possible. Thank you to Title Partner Pembroke Management and Pella Montreal as Presenting Partner. As well, many thanks go to Platinum Partners Club Atwater and the City of Montréal, and Gold Partners Mortgage Company of Canada, Portage Ventures, Sonder, the Government of Québec, Richter LLP, Syra Group, AirSprint Private Aviation, Slaight Music, RBC Wealth, Dunlop, the Government of Canada, McGill, Richardson, Squash Québec, Midtown Sanctuaire, Altas Partners, Forthlane Partners, YDC Pro, Ardo VLM, and Xamsa.

Results via Club Locker Draws: Click Here

National Champions

Women Open Singles

  1. Hollie Naughton 2. Nicole Bunyan 3. Nikole Todd

Women U23 singles

  1. Hannah Guthrie 2. Nicole Temple 3. Sara Khan

Women A singles

  1. Kadeeja Elbarkouky 2. Kristen Iverson 3. Lea Provencal

Women B singles

  1. Chloe Wren 2. Aimee Huntingtin 3. Ariel Mccuaig

Women C singles

  1. Claudia B Sabri 2. Charlotte Dab 3. Bhavisha Patel

Women D Singles

  1. Stephanie Lee 2. Kiran Sunar 3. Julie Philizot

Women 35+/40+/45+ singles

  1. Seanna Keating 2. Leah Boody 3. Nicole Garon

Women 50+ singles

  1. Dolly Kao 2. Alicia Hamilton 3. Clemencia Castillo

Women 55+ singles

  1. Julie Hisey 2. Lisa Bogdan 3. Leslie Cameron

Women 60+ singles

  1. Kathryn Cowper 2. Lorraine Tétrault 3. Alison Le Ber


Men Open Singles

  1. David Baillargeon 2. Brett Schille 3. Graeme Schnell

Men U23 singles

  1. Matt Bicknell 2. Abbas Nawaz 3. Jayden Shortt

Men A singles

  1. Briag Isambard 2. Abhimanyu Pande 3. Georges Brzozowski-Ryan

Men B singles

  1. Erez Provizor 2. Gad Benchimol 3. Thomas Cameron

Men C singles

  1. Kevin Cosme 2. Eric J Thibeault 3. Evgheni Polesciuc

Men D singles

  1. David Carroll 2. Anwar Ebrahim 3. Jonathan Gagne

Men 30+ singles

  1. Maxym Leclair 2. Maxime Blouin 3. Michael Fong

Men 40+ singles

  1. Sean Oh 2. Michael Brook 3. Andrew Clements

Men 45+ singles

  1. Matt Bishop 2. David Ramsden-Wood 3. Erik Zaremba

Men 50+ singles

  1. Pete Goodings 2. Don Lee 3. John B Musto

Men 55+ singles

  1. David Sly 2. Steve K Wren 3. Sean R Ryan

Men 60+ singles

  1. William Hosey 2. Dominic Hughes 3. Mark Sealy

Men 65+ singles

  1. Wayne Weatherhead 2. Terry Sunar 3. Derrick Cameron

Men 70+ singles

  1. Glenn Caird 2. Gabriel Dubois 3. Richard Duceppe

Men 75+ singles

  1. Gary Grant 2. Norbert Kornyei 3. Robert de Valk

Men 80+ singles

  1. Gerald Poulton 2. Howard Armitage 3. Vincent Taylor